The Sir Alec Rose trophy this year, along with the winner being “crowned” club champion, was held on the 13th October. The day dawned with a gentle force 2 wind but with forecasted 5 to 7 later. 

The weather prediction, and maybe rugby on the television, kept entrants down to 17. With the wind south veering south west ,the RO Jeremy King, set a course to include a long beat and downwind leg. Race 1 started with the wind increasing and within 30 minutes had increased to that of the forecast, the result was many capsizes and retirements. Only 7 boats managed to finish. The winner was John and Liz Reed in a 2000 with Barrie and Linda Wolfenden 2nd and Richard Hudson 3rd in a solo.

Race 2 was postponed until a second rescue boat could be launched and due to increasing wind strength was limited to 1 lap for the 6 contestents. The race was won by Mark Stones in a solo with Barrie and Linda Wolfenden 2nd and Guy Marks and Kate Fitzsimmons 3rd. An early lunch was called to see if the wind would abate. This it did but only 4 boats took to the water, the competition was close with Mark Stones taking line honours, Guy and Kate 2nd and Jon Hill in his Solo 3rd.

The overall result was that Mark Stones took the Senior trophy and Connie Hill the junior. The Godfrey Faussett trophy for 1st Veteran went to Les Aldous. 

In a close contest, in spite of the weather, Mark Stones was overall winner of the Rose Bowl and club champion. Connie Hill took the Junior Rose Bowl.

Full Results